The E-News site has been inactive since February 2011 and may contain outdated information and/or broken links. For current and up-to-date Tufts news and information, please visit Tufts Now at
Tufts University e-news

Search  GO >

this site people
Tufts University Logo Bottom Search Bottom  
left side photo

Abriola Named to American Academy of Arts & Sciences

 Abriola Named to American Academy of Arts & SciencesLinda M. Abriola, Dean of the School of Engineering at Tufts University, is among the latest group of experts and intellectuals elected to the elite American Academy of Arts & Sciences.

Medford/Somerville, Mass. [04.28.06] Linda M. Abriola, Dean of the School of Engineering at Tufts University, was among nearly 200 leading scholars, scientists, artists and world leaders named to the prestigious American Academy of Arts and Sciences this year. She is joined by a variety of distinguished national and international figures, including two former U.S. presidents, a Nobel laureate and several Pulitzer Prize winners.

"It gives me great pleasure to welcome these outstanding leaders in their fields to the Academy," Academy President Patricia Meyer Spacks said in a statement. "Fellows are selected through a highly competitive process that recognizes individuals who have made preeminent contributions to their disciplines and to society at large."

Dr. Abriola is one of the world's foremost researchers in the field of groundwater contamination and remediation. In the fall of 2003, she joined one of the very small number of women who lead engineering schools at "division one" research institutions when she became the first woman Dean of the School of Engineering at Tufts University. Under her leadership, Tufts is becoming recognized as a place that puts emphasis on educating engineers for positions as technological leaders in the solution of societal problems.

Related coverage: Shared Vision, Engineering Dean Named

At the national level, Dr. Abriola has helped inform and shape policy on subsurface remediation. She has been one of the most visible women in hydrology and environmental engineering fields, serving as a role model and mentor to many scientists and engineers. Among her current professional activities are membership on the National Research Council Committee on Gender Differences in Careers of Science, Engineering and Mathematics Faculty and the National Academy of Engineering Offshoring Engineering Workshop Committee.

Prior to her arrival at Tufts University, Dr. Abriola spent 19 years as a professor at the University of Michigan College of Engineering where she was Director of the top-ranked Environmental and Water Resources Engineering Program and the first woman to be honored with a Chair Professorship. Among her many honors, she is a Fellow of the American Geophysical Union and a Member of the National Academy of Engineering.

Dr. Abriola will join the Academy's 226th Class of Fellows and Honorary Members, which includes former U.S. presidents George H.W. Bush and William J. Clinton; Elbert Rutan, designer and constructor of the Voyager, the first vehicle to circumnavigate the earth without refueling; Supreme Court Chief Justice John Roberts; 9/11 Commission Chair Thomas Kean; actor and director Martin Scorsese; and New York Stock Exchange Chairman Marshall Carter.

"Throughout its history, the Academy has convened the leading thinkers of the day, from diverse perspectives, to participate in projects and studies that advance the public good," Academy Chief Executive Officer Leslie Berlowitz said in a statement. "I am confident that this distinguished class of new Fellows will continue that tradition of cherishing knowledge and shaping the future."

Dr. Abriola will be formally inducted into the Academy of Arts & Sciences on Oct.7, at the organization's headquarters in Cambridge, Mass.

Established in 1780 by John Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock and other scholar-patriots, the Academy seeks to elect "the finest minds and most influential leaders from each generation," according to an Academy statement. Those elected have included George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Daniel Webster, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill.


Related Stories
Related Links
Featured Profile